Berlin's Real Estate Market

Up-and-coming

Berlin's Real Estate Market

about

Overtaking Munich, London and Paris, Berlin is ranked “first place in Europe for investors” in PwC’s latest research. National and international media have focused on the city’s real estate and according to FOCUS online, “Berlin has the hottest property market in Europe.”

Whether you are a professional investment company or a private individual, Berlin not only offers you an opportunity to grow your investment, but also provides many other business opportunities and a high quality of life in one of the most vibrant cities in Europe.

In the last few years, the purchasing and rental market in Berlin has expanded faster than in any other city in Germany, The price per square meter for apartments has increased rapidly since 2008 and this trend is continuing.

Key reasons for this trend:

1. The growing number of residents has driven up property prices

Berlin is the most dynamic state in Germany. Since 2005, the city has had the highest GDP per capita growth rate in Germany. Every year, more than 40,000 young talents move to Berlin. It is predicted that by the end of 2030, Berlin’s population will have increased by 15%. Housing shortages have caused a continuous increase in property prices. Since 2008, the price per square meter in Berlin has on average increased by 14% every year and in the city center, prices have increased by over 30%. Rents across Berlin also rose by up to 53% between 2008 and 2014. The demand for apartments will push the price even higher in the coming years.

2. Price advantage

In comparison to many other global cities in or outside Germany, property in Berlin is competitively priced. The average price per square meter is, for example, a third of the price in Paris and a sixth of that in London.

Figure1

3. Strong economic development has attracted many businesses

Berlin has become an incubator city for global start-ups. In addition to well-established companies such as Bayer, ThyssenKrupp, Mercedes-Benz, Fujitsu, and Amazon, many more companies from a wide range of sectors have made Berlin their base. These include e-commerce and biotechnology, as well as cultural, media and creative industries. The demand for commercial and offices space has increased dramatically.

4. Interest rates for financing are at a historical low

5. Berlin is the new star of the international property market and this has been acknowledged by many financial institutions worldwide. A growing number of international investors and funds are active in the market. The demand for projects has encouraged new areas of development and this has had a direct impact on prices.

Figure3

According to the Berlin Independent Evaluation Association’s 2014 annual report, most property transactions are in the center of the city. Individual purchases accounted for 78% of all transactions.

Berlin - an up-and-coming city with huge potential!

Competitive advantages for overseas buyers:

  • There are no limits to the amount of property foreigners can purchase. Ownership is permanent once the transactions have been done.
  • Many foreigners are eligible for mortgages from local German banks and therefore benefit from historically low interest rates for financing.
  • Germany has a solid legal system, which protects the right of buyers. The property buying process must be supervised and officially notarized.
  • The costs of maintenance and tax after the purchasing are very low in comparison to the UK or the USA.
  • Safe, ecological, high quality building materials and the latest energy-saving technology ensure high standards, low additional costs and a long life span for properties.

Der Berliner Immobilienmarkt

Aufstrebend

Der Berliner Immobilienmarkt

about

Berlin überholt München, London und Paris und wird nun in der letzten Studie von PwC als “Platz Nummer 1 für Investoren” bewertet. Nationale und internationale Medien konzentrieren sich nach FOCUS online auf die Immobilien der Stadt. „Berlin hat den der heißesten Immobilienmarkt Europas.“

Ob Sie nun eine professionelle Immobilieninvestmentfirma oder eine Privatperson sind, Berlin bietet Ihnen nicht nur eine Gelegenheit, Ihr Investment wachsen zu lassen. Berlin hält auch viele andere Geschäftsmöglichkeiten und eine hohe Lebensqualität in der der lebendigsten Städte Europas für Sie bereit.

In den letzten Jahren hat der Kauf- und Mietmarkt in Berlin schneller expandiert als in jeder anderen Stadt in Deutschland. Der Preis pro Quadratmeter für Wohnungen steigt seit 2008 schnell und der Trend hält an.

Die wichtigsten Gründe für den Trend:

1. Der Anstieg der Einwohnerzahl hat die Immobilienpreise in die Höhe getrieben

Berlin ist Deutschlands dynamischstes Bundesland. Seit 2005 hat Berlin die höchste Wachstumsrate des Pro-Kopf- Bruttoinlandsprodukts in Deutschland. Jedes Jahr ziehen mehr als 40.000 junge Talente nach Berlin. Es wird prognostiziert, dass die Berliner Bevölkerung bis Ende 2030 um 15 % steigt. Wohnungsmangel hat zu einem kontinuierlichen Anstieg der Wohnungspreise geführt. Seit 2008 ist der Quadratmeterprei um 14 % pro Jahr gestiegen und im Stadtzentrum sogar über 30 %. Die Mieten sind zwischen 2008 und 2014 um bis zu 53 % gestiegen. Die Nachfrage nach Wohnungen wird den Preis in den kommenden Jahren noch höher treiben.

2. Preisvorteil

Im Vergleich zu vielen anderen Weltstädten in und außerhalb Deutschlands sind die Preise in Berlin wettbewerbsfähig. Der durchschnittliche Quadratmeterprei liegt zum Beispiel bei einem Drittel der Preise in Paris und einem Sechstel derer von London.

Figure1

3. Starke wirtschaftliche Entwicklung hat viele Firmen angezogen

Berlin ist ein Inkubator für globale Start-ups. Außer etablierten Unternehmen wie Bayer, ThyssenKrupp, Mercedes-Benz, Fujitsu und Amazon haben Firmen aus vielen Branchen Berlin zu ihrer Basis gemacht. Sa schließt sowohl E-Commerce und Biotechnik als auch Kultur-, Medien- und kreative Industrie ein. Die Nachfrage nach Gewerbeflächen und Büroraum ist dramatisch gestiegen.

4. Finanzierungszinsen liegen auf einem historischen Tief

5. Berlin ist der neue Star des Immobilienmarktes und wird weltweit von vielen Finanzierungsinstitutionen anerkannt. Eine wachsende Zahl von internationalen Investoren und Fonds sind auf diesem Markt aktiv. Die Nachfrage nach Projekten hat neue Entwicklungsbereiche gestärkt und beeinflusst die Preise direkt.

Figure3

Gemäß dem Jahresbericht 2014 der Berlin Independent Evaluation Association finden die meisten Immobilientransaktion im Stadtzentrum statt (Abb. 2). Der Kauf von Eigentumswohnungen macht 78 % aller Transaktionen aus.

Berlin – eine aufstrebende Stadt mit riesigem Potenzial!

Vorteile für internationale Käufer:

  • Es gibt keine Beschränkungen für den Erwerb durch Ausländer. Der Besitz ist nach dem Kauf permanent.
  • Viele Ausländer sind berechtigt, Hypothekenkredite lokaler Banken in Anspruch zu nehmen und profitieren damit von historisch niedrigen Finanzierungszinsen.
  • Deutschland besitzt ein solides Rechtssystem, das die Rechte der Käufer schützt. Der Kauf wird von einem Notar offiziell überwacht und beurkundet.
  • Die Kosten für Instandhaltung und die Steuern nach dem Kauf sind im Vergleich zu Großbritannien oder den USA sehr niedrig.
  • Sichere, ökologische Baumaterialien hoher Qualität und die neuesten Energiespartechniken sichern hohen Standard, geringe Zusatzkosten und lange Lebenserwartung der Immobilien